Announcing: the international art project Good News

Published: 27.02.2024

DOBRE NOVICE! (GOOD NEWS!) is a six-month-long art event with a creative dialogue between the celebrated Belgian sculptor William Sweetlove, more than 20 contemporary artists from several countries and the Kamnik community.

DOBRE NOVICE! art event includes:

  1. a major exhibition in Miha Maleš Gallery that will reveal the creative story of William Sweetlove and the other artists,
  2. a wonderful cocktail of contemporary art at Zaprice Castle museum, alongside its permanent collection of local and national Slovene treasures,
  3. monumental sculptures exhibited in the botanical gardens of Arboretum Volčji Potok and a more intimate art exhibit in a gallery inside its historic farmhouse, and
  4. exhibitions in the local art galleries and some surprising locations in the center of Kamnik


16 March – 22 September 2024

Pre-opening event on

Friday, 15 March 2024 at 19:00, Glavni trg, Kamnik

Public opening event on
Saturday, 16 March 2024 at 10:00, Glavni trg, Kamnik

Web page 

William Sweetlove

Yes, that really is his name! Born in Ostend, Belgium in 1949, William comes from humble beginnings and a wartime rural European background. Over the past decades, his iconic sculptural creations have brought him worldwide recognition and his work has grown to be adored by everyone from art critics to children alike. From giant Schnauzers adorned in Wellington rainboots, to penguins carrying PET bottles on their backs, Sweetlove’s sculptures carry a critical subtext of our industrial society, while simultaneously maintaining a strong connection to nature and its ever-fleeting beauty.

Participating artists

William Sweetlove (BEL), Victor Kastelic (ZDA/ITA), Daniele Galliano (ITA), Pierluigi Pusole (ITA), Sergio Cascavilla (ITA), Bart Ramakers (BEL), Garrett Speirs (ZDA), Elke Warth (GER), Francesco Di Lernia (ITA), Mark Brest van Kempen (ZDA), Carel Pieter Brest van Kempen (ZDA), Nina Koželj (SVN), Raja Khairallah(LBN/ITA), Tazio Kastelic (ZDA/ITA), Zjos Meyvis (BEL), Federico Caputo (ITA), Enrico T. De Paris (ITA), Ginny Speirs (ZDA), Philippe Badert (BEL), Paolo Cassarà (ITA), Ira Marušič (SVN), Tina Konec (SVN).